Continuing download via API without duplicating results

Hello!

I’m still very new to GraphQL queries, so I apologize if this is a dumb question.

I’m using the API to get picking stats (picks_per_day query), and I’m wondering about how to continue a download where I left off if it gets stopped for any reason, but I want to do it without getting duplicates for records I’ve already downloaded or missing any records I haven’t yet downloaded.

Let me give an example.

Let’s say I want to download a month’s worth of picks from the API. I setup my query to search between 2019-06-01 and 2019-06-30 and run it, and I loop through getting groups of 100 until I’ve exhausted the credits. When I check the results, maybe I’ve gotten as far as part way through the 20th. Since the credits refresh after an hour, I’ll have to wait to pick it back up, but when I do, I want to skip the ones I’ve already gotten for the first part of the 20th while making sure I get the remainder of the 20th.

So my questions are:

1. Are the cursors that come down with the records fixed, or are they generated on the fly? In other words, if I save the last cursor I got from my previous results, can I use that to just pick up where I left off, even if it’s more than an hour later? What about if I change my date range to be 2019-06-20 through 2019-06-30 and still try to use the last cursor I downloaded?
  2. Are the cursors that are generated somewhat sequential? In other words, if I’m downloading records for the current day, but the day is still going on, and I come back later to download more records, will the cursors on the new records always be “higher” than the previously generated ones?

Thanks!

Hello Jeremy! Those are excellent questions btw.
For cursors, they may vary if data or sorting changes, so I believe it might not be the best approach.
Another option would be to break it down into days, so you can keep better track of credits.